[IMAGE: Pillars Ramadan Live Activity and fasting tracker]
Pillars is our app. We've put it first because it has no ads, declares no "Data Used to Track You" on the App Store, and its Ramadan countdowns, fasting tracker and menstruation mode are free. Every fact about other apps comes from their App Store listings, release notes and developers' own pages, checked on 18–19 October 2026.
Pillars (our app) is our pick for Ramadan: no ads, no tracking label, a free Ramadan Live Activity counting down to suhoor and iftar, and a fasting tracker that logs missed fasts with a reason, menstruation included, and counts your make-ups. The full adhan on iPhone needs Premium and iOS 26. Alternatives:
- MAWAQIT, if your mosque publishes its Ramadan timetable there (free, no ads).
- Sajda, for an ad-free Ramadan Live Activity.
- Muslim Pro, if you want a Quran in the same app and don't mind ads.
Ramadan 2027 dates at a glance (expected, not yet announced).
- First fast: Monday 8 February 2027. The first taraweeh is the evening before, Sunday 7 February. Umm al-Qura, FCNA and Diyanet calculate this date, and the UK local-sighting forecast (ICOUK) agrees 1, 2, 3, 4.
- Eid al-Fitr: Tuesday 9 March (calculated calendars) or Wednesday 10 March (UK local-sighting forecast). The new moon on 8 March is too young to be seen by eye 5, 6.
- 27th night: the evening of Friday 5 March (our calculation, for an 8 February start) 1.
Final dates depend on moonsighting and announcements; follow your mosque. Full details: Ramadan 2027 dates
At a glance: the Ramadan checklist
| App | Time settings | Countdown widget / Live Activity | Fasting tracker (reasons, make-ups) | Menstruation-aware | No ads | No tracking label | Full adhan, iPhone | Full adhan, Android | Ramadan features free |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pillars (our app) | ✓ + mosque times (iPhone) | ✓ free Live Activity + widgets | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ Premium, iOS 26 | ✓ free | ✓ |
| Muslim Pro | partial | partial (in-app iftar countdown) | partial (logs fasts) | not stated | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ alarm | not stated | partial (ads) |
| Athan (IslamicFinder) | not stated | partial (Ramadan widget) | partial (fasting logs) | partial (prayers only) | ✗ | ✗ | not stated | not stated | partial (ads) |
| Athan Pro | partial (imsakiye) | partial (dashboard) | ✗ | not stated | ✗ | ✗ | ✓ "Full Athan" mode | not stated | partial (ads) |
| MAWAQIT | partial (mosque timetables ✓; method choice not shown) | ✓ Imsak countdown widget | ✗ | not stated | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ iOS 26 | not stated | ✓ |
| Sajda | partial | ✓ Ramadan Live Activity | ✗ | not stated | ✓ | ✓ | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Salam | ✓ (no mosque times) | partial (Ramadan countdown) | partial (fasting row) | partial | ✓ | ✓ | not stated | not stated | ✓ |
| Muslim Now | ✓ (no UK timetables) | partial (prayer, not Ramadan) | ✗ | partial (not fasts) | ✓ | ✓ | partial (Fajr alarm) | not stated | ✓ (PRO covers extras, none Ramadan-specific) |
✓ = the App Store listing, release notes or the developer's own pages document it (for Pillars, also what the app shows or our team confirms). Partial = documented with a limit. ✗ = not shown in the listing or the developer's pages, or declared otherwise. "Not stated" = no source either way. Time settings = calculation methods, Asr, adjustments and mosque timetables. As of 18–19 October 2026 7.
Pillars (our app): the featured pick
iPhone (iOS 15+), Apple Watch and Android · Free; Premium (iPhone) £9.99/month, annual plans listed from £39.99. Android is a simpler, fully free app 8, 9, 10.
Checklist: ✓ time settings and mosque timetables (iPhone) · ✓ free Ramadan Live Activity and widgets · ✓ fasting tracker with reasons and make-ups · ✓ menstruation mode · ✓ no ads · ✓ no tracking label · ✓ full adhan on iPhone (Premium, iOS 26+) · ✓ full adhan on Android · ✓ Ramadan features free.
Privacy first. No ads. The App Store label shows no "Data Used to Track You" and no "Data Linked to You", only "Data Not Linked to You" 8. The listing calls Pillars privacy-focused ("we avoid collecting it in the first place"), and you can switch analytics off in the app's Privacy Centre 8, 10.
Suhoor and iftar. A Ramadan tab counts down to suhoor and iftar and includes duas 10. The Ramadan Live Activity puts that countdown on the lock screen and in the Dynamic Island, free; Ramadan home and lock-screen widgets were made free in February 2026 10. Times use 23 calculation methods, standard or Hanafi Asr and per-prayer adjustments, and local mosque timetables are live on iPhone 10.
Fasting tracker. Log a missed fast with a reason (travel, health, menstruation, pregnancy or other) and the app counts the days to make up. It's the only listing we checked that shows a reason, including menstruation, alongside a make-up count 7, 10. Menstruation mode pauses prayer tracking and keeps your streak 10.
Adhan. On iOS 26 and later, Premium adds a Full Athan alarm for Maghrib, Fajr and the other prayers 10. On Android the full adhan is the free notification sound 11. More: best azan apps.
Drawbacks
- Free iPhone users hear a clip of about 6 seconds at prayer time; the full adhan needs Premium and iOS 26. The Apple Watch app also needs Premium 10.
- No Quran, khatam planner or zakat calculator, which several apps below offer 7, 10.
- Reviews: in 300 UK and US reviews (January 2025 to October 2026), 2 UK reviewers complain about charity prompts during Ramadan 2026, and about 45 say the Premium offer during setup is hard to skip 10.
Other apps compared
Prices are from the UK App Store, 18 October 2026 7.
Muslim Pro: a Ramadan Companion tab and a Quran, with ads
iPhone and Android · Free with ads; Premium plans listed from £2.49 to £49.99 12
- ✓ Suhoor and iftar times; a Prayer & Fasting Tracker to "log each fasting day and build a streak" 12.
- ✓ Ramadan Companion tab and a Deen Mode "iftar countdown with audio" (February 2026) 12.
- ✓ An "alarm for full adhan", per its support pages; "Adhan Alarms" in release notes since July 2026 7, 12.
- ✗ Ads, and Location and Identifiers declared as tracking 12.
No make-up count or menstruation link is shown 12. Bonus: a Quran and a khatam planner (developer's help page) 12. About 36 of 300 UK and US reviews (late August to October 2026) complain about ads 12.
Athan (IslamicFinder): Ramadan duas and a zakat calculator, with ads
iPhone and Android · Free with ads; Premium £1.99/month or £11.99/year; Remove Ads £3.99 13
- ✓ February 2026 update: Ramadan widget, countdown card, moon-sighting notifications, Ashrah duas and fasting logs 13.
- Partial: Menstrual Mode excuses prayers; a link to fasts isn't shown 13.
- ✗ Ads, and Contact Info declared as tracking; no Apple Watch app 13.
Not the same app as Athan Pro. Bonus: a zakat calculator 13.
Athan Pro (Quanticapps): a Ramadan dashboard and "Full Athan"
iPhone and Android · Free with ads; purchases listed from £3.99 to £99.99 14
- ✓ Suhur and iftar times, iftar and tarawih iqama, and a monthly imsakiye (timetable) 14.
- Partial: a Ramadan dashboard showing time remaining (February 2026); its prayer Live Activity is Premium-only, per 3 reviews 14.
- ✓ Per-prayer "Full Athan" mode 14.
- ✗ Ads, and the widest tracking label of the 15 apps we checked 14.
In 300 UK and US reviews (March to October 2026), about 14 users say lifetime purchases stopped being honoured after the Ramadan 2026 update 14.
MAWAQIT: your mosque's Ramadan timetable, free
iPhone and Android · Free, no in-app purchases or ads 15
- ✓ Imsak and iftar times; mosque admins can publish Ramadan schedules (September 2026) 15.
- ✓ "Imsak Countdown in Fasting Widget"; a prayer and iqama Live Activity 15.
- ✓ No ads; "Data Not Collected" on the App Store 15.
- ✓ "Full Adhan support for iOS 26+ devices" (release note) 15.
- ✗ No fasting tracker shown 7.
Two reviews (July 2025 and October 2026) ask for a choice of calculation method 15.
Sajda: a Ramadan Live Activity, no ads
iPhone and Android · Free; Sajda+ £2.99/month or £24.99/year 16
- ✓ "Ramadan Live Activity — see countdown and key Ramadan info at a glance on your Lock Screen" (March 2026); an iftar widget 16.
- ✓ No ads; no tracking label 16.
- ✓ Sajda Alarm for "Fajr, Tahajjud, or suhur", with a choice of adhan sounds; whether notifications play the full adhan isn't stated 16.
- ✗ No in-app fasting tracker shown; a watch complication shows fasting 16.
Whether the Live Activity needs Sajda+ is not stated. One reviewer (October 2026) says its Hanafi setting gives standard Asr times 16. Bonus: a 30-day Ramadan course.
Salam: free, no ads, no data collected
iPhone and Android · Free, no in-app purchases 17
- ✓ 24 methods per its listing (version 2.0.6 added four regional ones), madhab selection and manual corrections 17.
- Partial: a Ramadan countdown; its target isn't shown 17.
- Partial: the tracker has a fasting row and a menstruation button; how they interact isn't shown 17.
- ✓ No ads; "Data Not Collected" 17.
Bonus: a Muslim charity directory 17.
Muslim Now: a new app with a Fajr alarm
iPhone and Android · Free; PRO £2.99/week or £19.99/year 18
- ✓ Multiple methods and per-prayer adjustments; official timetables in Germany, Belgium, Turkey and Malaysia 18.
- Partial: a next-prayer countdown in the Dynamic Island, not Ramadan-specific 18.
- Partial: a Fajr alarm that "rings through Silent mode and Focus (iOS 26 and later)" 18.
- Partial: "On My Period" quiets the azan and reminders and keeps your streak; fasts aren't mentioned 18.
First released April 2026, with very few ratings 18. Bonus: khatam tracker and zakat calculator.
Dedicated Ramadan apps
Most Ramadan features now live inside the big prayer apps. The most-rated dedicated Ramadan app we found, Ramadan Times, hasn't been updated since June 2019 and declares tracking 7. If you only need to count missed fasts, Missed Fast Tracker offers a make-up counter and a suhoor/iftar countdown widget; its developer says "No ads. No tracking." 7. Ramadan Legacy is no longer on the App Store 7.
Also considered: Pray Watch (no ads, no data collected, but no tracker; its widget counts down to the start of Ramadan) 7; Quran Majeed (suhoor and iftar times, with ads) 7; Ramadan Checklist (duas, a Quran tracker and a missed-fast tracker, but no prayer times) and Ramadan Duas 2026 (30 daily duas with audio) 7.
Privacy: which Ramadan apps track you?
Of 15 prayer apps on the App Store on 18 October 2026, 7 declare "Data Used to Track You" and 6 carry Apple's "Contains Advertising" tag 7. Here, Muslim Pro, Athan and Athan Pro do both. Pillars, MAWAQIT, Sajda, Salam and Muslim Now declare no tracking. Apple defines tracking as linking your data with other companies' data for targeted ads 19. Labels are developer-declared, not audited. More: best Muslim prayer apps.
How we compared
Pillars is our app. We judged every app on the same criteria, the checklist columns. Duas, khatam planners and zakat calculators count only as a bonus. We read listings, labels, prices, release notes, screenshots and recent reviews on 18–19 October 2026, and searched the App Store for dedicated Ramadan apps 7. Review counts come from different time windows, so they aren't comparable across apps. We have not yet checked times against a mosque timetable during Ramadan.
[TESTER: during Ramadan 2027, on an iPhone running iOS 26 and an Android phone (name models), record (1) suhoor and iftar times against a named UK mosque timetable for 7 days with matched settings; (2) whether each countdown widget or Live Activity stays accurate overnight; (3) Maghrib and Fajr adhan length with the phone locked; (4) ads in a five-minute free session.]
Research and drafting were assisted by AI tools. [NAME] checked every fact against the sources.



